Homeward Bound 

Our time in Mauritius has sadly come to an end. As I write this I am on a plane headed for my hometown – Durban, South Africa. I am excited to be returning after nearly a year of living abroad, but it is not without a heavy heart.

We are leaving the island a day earlier than initially planned, since we received news on Thursday evening (6th of July) that my beloved grandfather had passed away. It was not entirely unexpected, as he had recently undergone surgery for a broken hip and had been in ICU for some time, but no less devastating.

My grandfather was truly a great man. Even at 83 he was one of the toughest people I ever had the privilege of knowing, and he taught me many things about life that I will never forget. Although I believe his painless passing was in fact a blessing, since his quality of life was likely to decline after the fall that landed him in hospital, he will still be sorely missed. The world has lost a hero.

A funeral was definitely not on my original holiday agenda, however I am grateful that I will have the opportunity to say goodbye to someone who touched my life in such a wonderful way. Being with my family during this time will also help to ease the pain of this great loss.

There are many platitudes that come to mind whenever someone dies – he is in a better place, he will live on in our memories, at least he didn’t suffer. These cliches are meant to comfort us, and I guess they do to some extent, but I prefer to focus instead on the person that my grandfather was when he was alive.

His kindness and gentle patience with everyone around him are qualities I will strive to cultivate in myself, and his steady perseverance right until the very end will continue to inspire me.

Rest now dear grandad; you’ve earned it ♥️

2 thoughts on “Homeward Bound 

Add yours

  1. Mauritius is such a lovely place for a vacation. Every year I long to go back. I live in CT, and haven’t been to Durban in over a year, but I love it there. My ex and I used to drive down there twice a year for a little get away. Don’t know when I’ll be able to go again.

    I’m so sorry to hear about your grandfather. Sending you much love and comfort during this difficult time. ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

